top of page

Dr Kourosh H. Ebrahimi, Principal Investigator


I was born in Iran. After finishing my undergraduate and graduate studies in Chemical and Biochemical Engineering, respectively, I did my PhD in Bioinorganic Chemistry under the supervision of Prof Wilfred R. Hagen (TU Delft). As a postdoc, I had the privilege to work with Prof Michael Farzan (Harvard Medical School), and  Prof Fraser A. Armstrong, Prof William S. James, and Prof James McCullagh (all at the University of Oxford). In October 2021, I joined the Institute of Pharmaceutical Science as a Lecturer. Painting with oil on canvas is my hobby.

yujie Sheng.jpg

Yujie Sheng, PhD Student

I am from China. I got my master's degree in Drug Discovery and Development (UCL). My research interest lies in the interface of immunology and drug discovery. In my PhD studies, I will engineer ferritin nanocages to develop new immunotherapies. Cycling and listening to music are my hobbies

Hoang Thao Nghi.jpg

Thao Nghi Hoang, PhD student

I come from Vietnam. I have an MSc degree in Pharmaceutical Sciences. My research elucidates the emerging role of iron-sulfur clusters and proteins like the antiviral enzyme SAND in immunometabolism and oncometabolism. I am a movieholic and also have a crazy passion for food.


Deborah Grifagni, Visiting Postdoc From Laboratory of Prof Simone Ciofi-Baffoni (University of Florence and CEMR, IT)

My name is Deborah and I am from Italy. I have PhD in structural biology. My research interests are about iron-sulfur proteins involved in human diseases and finding strategies to fight viral infections. I enjoy tango, drawing, and have a visceral passion for poetry in both reading and writing.

Astrid ID picture.png

Astrid Maluta, M.Sc. student

I come from Italy. I have a BSc (Hons) in Biomedical Sciences and one year of experience in industry. My research interests are infectious diseases, autoimmunity and drug discovery. In my spare time I enjoy growing plants, learning Kung Fu and mountain walking.

Theo Situmorang, Visiting Scientist 

I was born and raised in Indonesia. I hold a BEng in Bioprocess Technology from University of Indonesia and have 3-year experience in biotech industry. My research interests are in drug discovery and biopharmaceutical innovations. My study is funded by the Chevening Scholarship. In my spare time, I love to travel and play music.

Past Members

  • Mohammed Hakil, M.Sc. Student

  • Zilong Cheng, M.Sc. Student

  • Anqi (Amelia) Da

  • Wei (Naomi) Li

  • Yuxuan Ji

bottom of page